720 no longer giving adequate warning for upcoming turns

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by HoldenCaulfield, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. HoldenCaulfield

    HoldenCaulfield

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 720 used to give me an audio warning of an upcoming turn 2 miles before the turn when driving above a certain speed. I am no longer getting a 2 mile audio warning, and instead I'm getting a warning of an upcoming turn 0.5 miles before the turn.

    Yesterday I took a trip where a majority of the driving was on a freeway. At speeds of 60-70 mph, a warning 0.5 miles before an exit is not enough time, and I found myself in a tight situation because of traffic on more than one occasion.

    Anybody else have this problem, and does anybody know a fix? I suspect it has to do with the latest update, but I'm not positive. Any thoughts?
     
    HoldenCaulfield, Jul 21, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. HoldenCaulfield

    ar1979

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    As far as I read, GPS data updates come once every second.
    So at higher speeds there might be trouble with triggering of the voice prompts accurately than when travelling slower, since at higer speeds more distance would be covered than compared to low speeds.
    But missing of prompts 2miles ahead is definitely weird.
     
    ar1979, Jul 21, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. HoldenCaulfield

    GarCor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Nova Scotia in Summer Florida in Winter
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go-920 App 9.465 Map N A 895.4438 C&W Europe 8.30 Magellan Explorist 710
    I had this problem and found it was in the speech Preferences. you must select a computer voice ( I have Susan USA Computer voice ) and then have the box unchecked that disables early warning instructions. ( second Page ) this worked for me.
     
    GarCor, Jul 22, 2008
    #3
  4. HoldenCaulfield

    HoldenCaulfield

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that. I'll give it a try this afternoon and report back here!
     
    HoldenCaulfield, Jul 26, 2008
    #4
  5. HoldenCaulfield

    HoldenCaulfield

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, it worked! Thanks for the tip. I didn't realize that the update reset my settings back to the factory default settings. I'll remember that next time.
     
    HoldenCaulfield, Jul 27, 2008
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.