2D Screen North Up


Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Premium x
Basically been in discussion with TomTom and the above is not an option.

We have 2D in direction of travel but not with screen north locked up. You can hack it with map view but this looses the automatic zoom in and out for junctions and speed. You manually have to do this which is a distraction. TomTom advised post this on the forums and get support and it is more likely to be added to there developments.

Hence posting this and asking for views, support and reposting to other Forums including TomToms own.
Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,645
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
2D fixed north used to be possible but I do not remember if it worked with automatic zooming.
Except for some testing I have been driving in 3D mode for ten years now and much prefer it.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Premium x
2D fixed north used to be possible but I do not remember if it worked with automatic zooming.
Except for some testing I have been driving in 3D mode for ten years now and much prefer it.
It’s possible to have 2D with North up in map view. Only with manual zoom. This is what I use. It doesn’t automatically zoom in and out as it’s not a drive view (2D & 3D are the drive views). I prefer 2D north up as I can visualise where I am in a wider context. Trying to gauge whether there are others like me. Thanks
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,300
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I've argued with TomTom about this many times. What they really support is 3D and 2D-direction-of-travel. When you and I use 2D-north-up, what we are really doing is looking at the 'route preview' screen.
Many times I have asked for a 2D-north-up view that behaves 'normally', but no luck after many years.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2020
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Premium x
Lack of 2D North up will probably mean moving back to a Garmin. I’m no programmer but surely it wouldn’t be a major software change to add North Up.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,300
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
You wouldn't think so.

I am able to use the route preview (which is a 2D-N-Up view) successfully for my purposes. I do turn off the zoom entirely in the settings on my 620, and set the zoom manually after planning a route. After doing that, the zoom seems to behave itself (by NOT zooming!). I've always preferred not having the device do all of the turn zooming, etc. I like it to stay steady so that I'm not mentally having to change my frame of reference for the size of the map view vs. reality.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top