Uploading map from MS Streets and Trips

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by dsullend, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. dsullend

    dsullend

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I had a Garmin Nuvi 1450 that I would load my own route from MS S&T. Now that is has died I need to find a new GPS to perform this task. I would use it on my motorcycle and like taking the roads less traveled. I haven't purchased a new GPS yet and was going to steer clear of Garmin this time. I was hoping someone on this forum could point me in the right direction. Do any TomToms allow a custom map or is it only certain models? Can I still use MS S&T or should I use the TomTom route planner?
    If I purchase the android app, will I be able to open or upload to the app?

    Thanks in advance for the replies.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013
    dsullend, Mar 3, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. dsullend

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,289
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    Welcome to TTF.

    None of the newer TomTom models handle itineraries properly. The best you can use is 3 waypoints.

    Most older models do allow itinerary planning with up to 48 waypoints.

    If you can find a 540, for example, that will do the job (though not sure how it will mount on a motorcycle).

    And you can convert itineraries from MS S&T to the required itn format that TomTom needs using a tool called GPS Babel (you can google for it).
     
    dhn, Mar 3, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. dsullend

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Or the new Rider model? They still accept itineraries.

    As for the 540 etc. here's a good mount for ordinary models that I have used for my daughter's Xl on her moped:

    BuyBits SKU 8644

    But it's an awfull layout on that website, things are scattered and often listed several times, See also stock codes 6520 (I think it's upside down in the pic... it's more waterproof if the cable access hole is at the bottom! :rolleyes:)
    or 9482 etc.
     
    Andy_P, Mar 3, 2013
    #3
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. BarryR

    Microsoft Streets & Trips

    BarryR, Sep 12, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,111
    Pedro2NR
    Sep 14, 2007
  2. el_pablo

    How to install TT One on Streets and Trips?

    el_pablo, Jan 25, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    849
    canderson
    Aug 15, 2013
  3. davidmcd

    Uploading planned trips???

    davidmcd, May 27, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    644
    davidmcd
    May 28, 2008
  4. michachael

    MS Streets & Trips compatible?!

    michachael, Jun 10, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    3,274
    johnling
    Jun 11, 2008
  5. Sheltie

    MS Streets & Trips and TomTom

    Sheltie, Apr 3, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    923
    Sheltie
    Apr 3, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page