No Voice on 910 after upgrade with TT Home

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by oreos, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. oreos

    oreos

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910
    I upgraded the firmware with the latest TomTom Home....I also upgraded my maps with the latest release. Now I get NO sound from the internal speaker.

    I checked the preferences and they are set for internal Speaker. When I use the car mount and I I plug the headphones, I hear sound.

    Did the upgrade corrupt a file ? Please help.

    thank you
     
    oreos, Jul 4, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. oreos

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,325
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50
    Have you triied resetting the unit?

    When you go to Voice preferences and choose 'test' for a voice, hear anything then?
     
    dhn, Jul 4, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. oreos

    oreos

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910
    tried reset but still no sound

    I checked Preferences and all the settings are for Internal Speaker. Also, tried Resetting by pressing the button that is located by the cradle connector...Prssed it for 15 seconds...reboot. Still same problem.
     
    oreos, Jul 4, 2011
    #3
  4. oreos

    oreos

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910
    The other thing that I noticed is that I don't have any computer voices. The Loquendo TTS file is only 179 megs.
    I tried installing computer voices with TT Home but I received the message that my model was Not Compatible ???

    PS I don't have the original install disk. How can i work around this problem?
     
    oreos, Jul 4, 2011
    #4
  5. oreos

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Do you get any sound from the device when its not in the car dock?
    Its possible the audio line out socket in the mount is broken as this doubles as a switch, if you get sound from the speaker with it standalone but not when in the car dock its usually the switch in the socket thats packed up - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 4, 2011
    #5
  6. oreos

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Do you have a back up of the original data that was on the TomTom, the Go-910 used a rather unique set of TTS files (4GB in total just for the TTS voices).
    If you don't have a backup on your PC (and these files were never supplied on disk with the device) you would need to locate someone local who has a 910 and make a copy of their LoquendoTTS folder - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 4, 2011
    #6
  7. oreos

    oreos

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910
    no sound form internal speaker whether it is on or out of the cradle. Also, no luck with install CD because no one I know owns a GO 910. Also, my original install disk is damaged.

    Got on the TomTom tech Support LiveTalk....not very helpful. I don't think that the person I was chatting with had any knowledge about the 910. She told me to format the device even after I told her twice that i do not have a backup and my install disk was damaged.
     
    oreos, Jul 4, 2011
    #7
  8. oreos

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Never format any TomTom without a backup made using Windows Explorer.

    Have you tried selecting a normal spoken voice such as Jane/ Tim i.e. a non TTS voice, does this work?

    Next for the reset, can you try again using a pin rather than a paperclip, quite often a paperclip is to large to actually depress the reset switch (its worth a try).

    Finally what version of software is installed to the device, don't use Home to get the information as thats useless, simply start up the device, press the sat strength meter (lower right corner of the screen) followed by the version box, the resultant screen contains the information I am interested in - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 4, 2011
    #8
  9. oreos

    oreos

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910
    I opened the device and connected aligator clips from the speaker to another speaker from a toy. Got sound ! I will order a new speaker tomorrow. Do you have a recommended shop for speakers?

    As for the computer voice I still cannot load them. The firmware version on the device is 7.903. Also, the TomTom Home I am using is v 2.8

    When I try to download compouter voices tthe message from the TT Home site is that it is Not Supported by my device. How can I fix this?
     
    oreos, Jul 5, 2011
    #9
  10. oreos

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    The 910 uses bespoke LoquendoTTS files that are not available via TomTom Home, you need to either locate someone with a 910 to copy their LoquendoTTS files or send me an e-mail to ma001n3398@blueyonder.co.uk and I will see about putting a set of files on a DVD and mailing it over along with a speaker that works from a scrap 910 I have in the parts bin - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jul 5, 2011
    #10
  11. oreos

    oreos

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910
    thank you for your help Mike....you are a gentleman !
     
    oreos, Jul 6, 2011
    #11
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Old Baldy

    Upgrade TT app without using HOME?

    Old Baldy, Jan 15, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,071
    barryg41
    Jan 19, 2008
  2. sneakersteve

    TT Home upgrade

    sneakersteve, Feb 13, 2008, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    1,499
    Rapunzel
    Feb 26, 2008
  3. teather5

    Upgrade TomTom ONE text to voice?

    teather5, May 9, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,602
    teather5
    May 9, 2008
  4. blue2lucy
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    681
    adextra01
    Jan 11, 2009
  5. KE5TNY

    TOM tom home upgrade

    KE5TNY, Jan 20, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    821
Loading...

Share This Page