No Maps Found - what worked for me

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by activinet, Dec 31, 2007.

  1. activinet

    activinet

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I came here looking for a solution to "No Maps Found!" error on my brand-new ONE LE (or ONE New Edition as TomTom Home identified it). I didn't find it here, but I found it at fixya.com (my gratitude to jtoubia there). Here is my version of what worked. Your mileage may vary, and, you try this at your own risk.

    Problem: After updating via Tom Tom Home, I lost any ability to use my ONE LE. Upon startup, it would only come back as No Maps Found! and no amount of tapping changed that, and pushing reset had no effect.

    Solution:
    1. Connect to your PC via the USB cable. Turn on the ONE LE. Select Yes to connect to your computer.

    2. If TomTom Home is running, Exit. Your unit will still be connected as a USB device. (When I say Exit, I mean to be sure the program is not running in the System Tray of the lower right corner of your screen. If it is, right-click and choose Exit).

    3. Open My Computer or Windows Explorer. Look for the mapped drive which is your TomTom. In my case, it is Drive letter I:. It will also likely have a red TomTom icon. (Make note of the drive letter for later)

    4. Right-click on this drive and choose Properties. Choose the Tools Tab on the pop up window. The first section is Error-checking (in Windows XP). Click the "Check Now..." button.

    In the next pop-up, check-mark "Automatically fix file-system errors", and then click the "Start" button. Wait for this to complete. It may or may not tell you that it fixed something.

    When this is finished, close all the popup windows, and also close My Computer (or Windows Explorer).

    5. In the System Tray (low-right), look for the Safely Remove Hardware icon. In Windows XP, it looks like a left-pointing green arrow above a gray rectangle. You may have to expand the System Tray with the << arrow to see this. Click it one time. Select the TomTom device by the drive letter (in my case, I:), when it says "Safely remove USB mass storage device - drive I:.
    Once it says it is Safe to Remove, then disconnect your TomTom.

    6. Turn off your TomTom. With the end of a paper clip or similar (safety pin), press down on the recessed Reset button on the bottom of your TomTom. It's a little hole just big enough for the paper clip point. You should be able to feel the "click" when you press down.

    7. Turn on your TomTom. Give it time to start up. The "No Maps Found" problem will hopefully be gone for you too.
     
    activinet, Dec 31, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. activinet

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Very interesting. I'm glad this worked for you and thanks for sharing!
     
    fanchee, Dec 31, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. activinet

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    If someone else can verify that they fixed their unit with this method, we should make this posting a 'sticky'.
     
    46jimbo, Dec 31, 2007
    #3
  4. activinet

    confused2gether

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    confused2gether, Jan 2, 2008
    #4
  5. activinet

    cputrdoc

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920T
    Neco, doesn't the TT periodically run its own fsck (file system check) anyway that should catch most problems this procedure would fix? ...and if not, is there value in adding that to, say, the flash clearing procedure when you have the unit offline for maintenance anyway?
     
    cputrdoc, Sep 13, 2008
    #5
  6. activinet

    bitter and then some

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    So my Tom Tom just stopped working today, said that didn't have file access or something, I forget the exact words. Today, I was reading up on some article on google and whatnot about this, and I learned to format it, which I did. And according to all guides, it should have gone smoothly. EXCEPT, now I get No Maps Found error everytime, and can't do anything. I'm reading that I'll probably have to buy the maps again. Hopefully someone here has a suggestion. And yes, I already tried the method in this thread.
     
    bitter and then some, Jul 26, 2009
    #6
  7. activinet

    bitter and then some

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    And my map guarantee has also expired according to Home.
     
    bitter and then some, Jul 26, 2009
    #7
  8. activinet

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,155
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605
    Did you make an Explorer backup prior to trying to update? Are you within the 30-day window for getting the LMG? And you tried what is shown here??

    If you have a map on a backup OR can see a map folder on your unit when you look at it using Explorer, we can fix the problem.
     
    dhn, Jul 26, 2009
    #8
  9. activinet

    joannarms

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    worked great

    I followed the instructions from activinet and it worked great. Thanks (I have a tom tom 3rd ed.)
     
    joannarms, Aug 5, 2009
    #9
  10. activinet

    DaveLloyd180

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Nope. Fails every time

    It helps to know what versions of SW you are using.
    Are you using a MAC?
    I'm using a TT Go 520 and Windows Vista (with the latest SP)
    Your, gratefully read, assistance, totally failed for me.
    I'm also running SyncBack Pro on my Laptop and found that files scheduled to be "saved" to dongle were now on my TT SD card.
    So - TT is using the same resources as anything else that uses VISTA backup/scheduling/ etc. etc.
    Stop using VISTA - or stop using TT?
    I'll see what happens when I change to W7
    Thanks for your help anyway.
    Dave.
     
    DaveLloyd180, Dec 5, 2010
    #10
  11. activinet

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,155
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605
    Some using W7 have no issues with Home, others seem to have.

    Some with problems on W7 find a 'cure' by running Home as XP compatibility mode.
     
    dhn, Dec 5, 2010
    #11
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. activinet

    No Maps Found - what worked for me

    activinet, Dec 31, 2007, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    13,635
  2. activinet

    No Maps Found - what worked for me

    activinet, Dec 31, 2007, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    4,180
    confused2gether
    Jan 2, 2008
  3. activinet

    No Maps Found - what worked for me

    activinet, Dec 31, 2007, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    12,490
    simoes
    Mar 15, 2009
  4. Johnnie_Walker

    No Maps Found

    Johnnie_Walker, Jun 28, 2009, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,287
  5. sensei1980
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,305
    mikecwest
    Jun 1, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page