Install New Map without TomTom Home?

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by Emily, May 13, 2009.

  1. Emily

    Emily

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Los Angeles County and New York City
    Encountered some difficulties updating my maps through Latest Map Guarantee. TomTom HOME got through downloading the North America maps (it took several hours), but then always got an error message for Western Europe etc.

    I gave up on the Western Europe maps, and installed North America using the regular update maps section of HOME. This worked okay at first. But my settings and favorites were missing, so I manually dragged my backup copy of the mapsettings file onto the right place on the TomTom. Now the device goes into an endless loop when starting up, so I'll have to restore the backup using either TomTom HOME or my manual backup.

    Once I'm back to square one, I'm wondering whether it might not be better to just manually install the new map files by dragging them. Is this possible (and which files to use?), or do you have to use TomTom HOME to install maps?
    Emily, May 13, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Emily

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,110
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Two issues here: a) the looping and b) whether maps can be installed without use Home.

    Second answer first....see the post further down for manual installation
    (revision: to reflect the fact it is possible).

    Next, the looping.....

    If you delete mapsettings.cfg from the map folder using Explorer, and then shut off the unit. Disconnect the unit properly from the computer and restart. The application will recreate a new mapsettings.cfg file and you should not encounter the looping problem

    It used to be that users could simply copy a mapsettings.cfg file from a backed up map to a new map to retrieve saved settings such as favourites, recent destinations and the like. Recent applications seem to have put an end to that procedure by rewriting the code in the file or something.

    So, what many people are doing is this:

    1. Download POI Edit from poiedit.com
    2. Create a custom poi category on your unit. Like _My_Favourites (The _ at the beginning will allow for the category to appear first in the list if you want to manage poi's.
    2. Load the backed up mapsettings.cfg file into Poi Edit.
    3. The application will list each of your favourites. Save each item as a poi point and save in the custom category file you created.

    Now then, use Explorer to move the custom.ov2 file into the new map folder and all your favourites will be there. Further, in the next map update, just copy this custom ov2 file from current map to new map.
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
    dhn, May 13, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. Emily

    Emily

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Los Angeles County and New York City
    Ah. Very helpful, thank you!
    Emily, May 13, 2009
    #3
  4. Emily

    Emily

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Los Angeles County and New York City
    POIEdit seems only to be for PCs. Do you know if there's a similar program for Macs?
    Emily, May 14, 2009
    #4
  5. Emily

    Steveh

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Take a look and see if you can find PoiView
    Steveh, May 14, 2009
    #5
  6. Emily

    Anders Lund

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Manual installation of maps

    I had the same problems as described and wrote to Tomtom Support. They gave me this method of doing a manual install of the downloaded map (translated):

    It worked
    Anders Lund, May 28, 2009
    #6
  7. Emily

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,110
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Yep, I should modify my post since indeed there is a manual method for installing the maps. Ususally not the best way to do it but hey, if it works and Home doesn't .....;)
    dhn, May 28, 2009
    #7
  8. Emily

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    You still need HOME to download the map and serial-number-specific activation file.

    After that, you can manually copy the download to the device if HOME doesn't do it properly.
    mvl, May 28, 2009
    #8
  9. Emily

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,110
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Correct. It was the install aspect I modified. It does concern me that some may not do the manual procedure properly, though. When Home DOES fit the new map, it does so seamlessly.
    dhn, May 28, 2009
    #9
  10. Emily

    murjes81

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Issue after manual map installation

    I had issues installing my new map through Tom Tom Home, it kept failing so I went ahead and manually copied it into the device as explained in previous posts.
    Now the issue I have is that Tom Tom Home doesn't recognized that the map was installed. It shows there is a map but doesn't know that it is the map that had been downloaded previously so it is unable to check for updates automatically.
    Is there anyway to correct this?
    murjes81, Feb 8, 2011
    #10
  11. Emily

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,110
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Did you reset your unit after the manual install? And did you follow the directions correctly, especially with the validation file? (<mapname>.meta.dct)
    dhn, Feb 8, 2011
    #11
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. doug4772

    Cannot install addon for TomTom Home

    doug4772, May 9, 2008, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    4,537
    twistrman
    May 13, 2008
  2. opel70

    Install CAB and TOC Without TomTom HOME?

    opel70, May 30, 2008, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    3,977
    Pajoe
    Jun 28, 2008
  3. Hecklerboy

    TomTom Home won't install...

    Hecklerboy, Mar 1, 2009, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    9,287
    canderson
    May 2, 2012
  4. r_lachu

    Cannot install TomTom home

    r_lachu, Dec 6, 2009, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    4,437
    marychelo
    Jun 1, 2012
  5. fgpctuki

    Unattended install of TomTom Home

    fgpctuki, Jul 15, 2011, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    3,075
    canderson
    Jul 20, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page