HELP! Broken After tomtomhome did update

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by asbaker, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. asbaker

    asbaker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    I hooked up to tomtom home and it downloaded some update today.

    Now, when I turn on the 720 (not attached to the computer), I get a flashing X and it doesn't work. I can operate the go720 from the tomtom home software but not free-standing.

    Help please!
    asbaker, Nov 29, 2007
    #1
  2. asbaker

    sam0329

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    I think you can try to do a reset on the 720. Than connect it to your comp and see if will download and install the update.
    sam0329, Nov 29, 2007
    #2
  3. asbaker

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    If you made a backup, try restore the unit.
    Pedro2NR, Nov 29, 2007
    #3
  4. asbaker

    OregonForester

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    I had the same problem.
    My 720 worked fine right out of the box, but once I did an upgrade, it turned into a piece of plastic.
    I notified customer service, but after 2 days and hearing nothing, I returned the unit to CircuitCity for another.
    SAME PROBLEM!
    The home2 backup is not exactly what I would call "robust".
    The update corrupted the operating system.
    Delete it from the home2 page (ignore the warnings) and update again.

    When you bakup, use Widows and backup everything.
    -------------------------------------------------------------

    Today, I received this from "support"

    Thank you for contacting TomTom Customer Support with regards to your device

    It sounds as if the update has corrupted the application

    Connect the device to the PC .Close Home ,Open My Computer .the Tomtom will be recognised as a mass storage device
    Explore it and delete all the loose files that are not in yellow folders .

    In Home v2.0

    Preferences/Folder preferences/Downloads/Browse and delete the downloads folder

    Exit Home and then open it again ( this will create a new downloads folder)

    Log-in again and click on download your updates

    In Home reinstall the application update and this will be rebuild the operating system on the device .

    With Best Regards

    The TomTom Customer Support Team
    OregonForester, Nov 30, 2007
    #4
  5. asbaker

    asbaker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    I'm saving a copy of what you all said above in case I need to do this again.

    Using restore didn't work.

    I managed to get through to a tech support guy at their 866-486-6866 number at about 5 PM.

    We started with the flash memory clearing several times but that didn't work. Their "servers were down" so I couldn't download the software that lets me operate my 720 on the computer. (When I had returned to an earlier version before I called, for some reason it did operate the 720 by computer. Then that stopped working and didn't work even on other laptops I had the older software on. Weird.).

    What finally worked was to replace some files and folders with a custom-made zip file they put on their website for me when I logged in.

    It's working now and I am not planning to update any software for a while! Once bitten, twice shy. But I must say the tech apologized for the corruption and the downed server.
    asbaker, Nov 30, 2007
    #5
  6. asbaker

    eaturner

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I had the same problem. After first getting it running fine out of the box, then tried to install some udpates, got the dredded flashing x. Tried my backup, no luck. So I went to the support site and found something about a clear cache script. I used a paperclip to hit the reset button, then I ran the downloaded clear cache script. Then after re-connecting to Tomtom Home and disconnecting, it worked again. Phew, thought I broke it before xmas :eek:

    Here is the link for the clear flash tool: http://www.tomtom.com/support/index.php?FID=6211&Lid=4
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2007
    eaturner, Dec 8, 2007
    #6
  7. asbaker

    Nick_Bagg

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I had the same problem. Bought the unit at lunch time and used it all day. Tried to update that evening and wound up with a paper weight. Wound up having to call customer support. We wiped out all of the stored files on my computer (My Documents>TomTom>Home>Downloads) and all of the files off of the TomTom as well. Then, they dropped the necessary application into my TomTom account. Thought about creating a tutorial with a zip file for others that have ran into this issue. Tech support basically said the updated file had become corrupted somewhere in the mix. :cool:
    Nick_Bagg, Dec 9, 2007
    #7
  8. asbaker

    asbaker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    To eaturner:

    It's Dec 9th and my husband's bought-today 720 got corrupted on the first download of software. Your message saved my sanity (when I contacted tech for this on my own 720, they sent me some files to replace but your message is a much better way!).

    Your message should be made "sticky" so others can find it easily. And TomTom should post this kind of thing on their own forum (if they have one).

    Thanks again and again....
    asbaker, Dec 10, 2007
    #8
  9. asbaker

    herman beecher

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    gps

    i need help to install my new gps
    herman beecher, Oct 5, 2008
    #9
  10. asbaker

    herman beecher

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    install gps

    i need help to install my new gps
    herman beecher, Oct 5, 2008
    #10
  11. asbaker

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    20,844
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    What kind of help do you need? Have you followed the quickstart instructions provided in the box?
    dhn, Oct 5, 2008
    #11

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. keyshawn

    Is 2.3.0.70 update safe to download latest update

    keyshawn, May 9, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,098
  2. rickety

    After Update, Home is broken

    rickety, Jun 14, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    1,833
  3. doublej

    TomTomHOME crashes

    doublej, Jan 15, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,981
    doublej
    Jan 19, 2009
  4. leggy

    4 times map update vs single time update

    leggy, Nov 25, 2009, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,064
    leggy
    Nov 27, 2009
  5. boogsawaste

    tomtomHOME not working

    boogsawaste, Feb 3, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,394
    boogsawaste
    Feb 4, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page