Full screen speedometer

Hi all, I'm trying to find a way to run a full screen speedometer off my TomTom ONE XL HD Traffic.

It is currently running
App 8.010,
GPS v1.21,
USA_and_Canada v825.2159

I've tried installing TripMaster, including adding the Plugin_Hook, and modding the file as listed by the author. All that I have accomplished with that is causing my TomTom to lock up, requiring a reset and a deletion of the files. I used UltraEdit to edit the file, also as the author suggested, but no dice. By install, I mean copy contents of the ZIP files to the root directory of the TomTom, as suggested by the auther.

OpenTom.org appears to be lifeless. They have no forum for people to talk about the programs and development, their IRC channel is a ghostroom. Of the 2 applications listed in their list, one seemingly no longer exists and the other fails to work.

I'm not a programmer myself, just a guy looking for a way to run fullscreen speedo. I use my GPS as a speedo on my bike, and if I'm not actively following a route on the GPS, I want to be able to go fullscreen with the speedometer.

Can anybody recommend something for me? I rather like how my TomTom performs, so I'm not seeking a custom firmware or other OS, just want to have a fullscreen speedo.

I don't think it's possible, if Tripmaster won't work for you..
I certainly haven't seen anything newer or better than Tripmaster.
The main problem is that TomTom stopped producing or supporting the "Software Developers' Kit", which was the gateway to producing any third-party add-ons.

The TT software is now a closed book and very hard to tinker with in any meaningful way, so developers are either struggling to keep previous gems like Tripmaster running, or have simply given up and moved onto other projects elsewhere.

Very sad IMHO, and a very blinkered decision on TomTom's part.

Last edited:
Hi all, I'm trying to find a way to run a full screen speedometer off my TomTom ONE XL HD Traffic.

It is currently running