Error Code 1008

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by jules46, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. jules46

    jules46

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 1005 App12.055.1124410.74 Map Europe 885.4007
    Thought my update went to smoothly.

    When logging into traffic getting the following error message

    Error Code 1008 Warning there is something wrong with your SIM card. Please contact Tom Tom customer support.

    I am in the process of doing this but at 1800gmt probably will not get through till Monday so any comments welcome.

    Julian

    Following the above discovered that tomtom support are aware of problem.

    Thought I would restore my backup and informed that the sd card was invalid and so no restoreavailable even though that was the one that was in the unit.
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
    jules46, Feb 18, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. jules46

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    Well, we know you're in the UK, and have one of the old SIM cards! That's where the problem is occurring.

    Yes, TomTom is very aware of the problem, and you should expect an update to 9.400 very soon.

    Are you running your application off your SD card? If not, I don't understand the message you were getting. How did you do your backup? With Home or your operating system?
    canderson, Feb 18, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. jules46

    jules46

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 1005 App12.055.1124410.74 Map Europe 885.4007
    Hi I am running the unit from my SDcard and have both explorer and home backups.

    Below is a copy of the fault log.

    ERROR: Note: Some volumes (for example, a storage card) that were present during a previous backup are not currently present on your navigation device, and cannot be backed up or restored.
    Stack:
    0. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/commit.js:82
    error(textOrException);
    1. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1061
    this._commitFailed(i, commitPage);
    2. chrome://tthome/content/logic/util.js:80
    return func.apply(obj, arguments);
    3. chrome://tthome/content/ui/subtask/restore/restore.js:72
    errorCallback(errorStrOut.value);
    4. chrome://tthome/content/logic/util.js:80
    return func.apply(obj, arguments);
    5. function _startCommitFunction chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1057
    {
    6. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:1021
    }
    7. function onPageChange chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:681
    ]]></body>
    8. chrome://tthome/content/ui/bindings/ttwizard.xml:467
    }

    Time: Sun, 19 Feb 2012 18:29:08 GMT


    The sdcard has not been removed or changed. as the unit is working well,bar traffic, will stay as I am for now hoping for no traffic jams assuming the fix is not to long

    Thanks for help

    Julian
    jules46, Feb 19, 2012
    #3
  4. jules46

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,318
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    mvl, Feb 19, 2012
    #4
  5. jules46

    jules46

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 1005 App12.055.1124410.74 Map Europe 885.4007
    Thank you back to 9.058 see if it finds traffic in the morning at least the error message has gone and showing connected to network.

    Thanks Julian
    jules46, Feb 19, 2012
    #5
  6. jules46

    spanner-do

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 540 Live
    Hi
    Made the mistake of updating the operating system late on Sunday evening and believe me Monday morning I was not a happy soul. Found this fix by doing a Google search, followed the process listed above and now have fully functioning live services again.:D Got stuck on Monday morning in a huge jam and had nothing to help me avoid it.:mad: I also use the local google search function significantly and was lost without it, I was expecting to have to wait until TT finally got around to developing a fix. Not really impressed with the support they offer.:rant:

    Thanks again

    Spanner-do
    spanner-do, Feb 21, 2012
    #6
  7. jules46

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    Glad you found us here. Have to believe the solution will be readied soon. Too many unhappy users, and TomTom is WELL aware of the problem.
    canderson, Feb 21, 2012
    #7
  8. jules46

    stuartgc

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    London
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 740
    24 Feb error 1008

    This is a bug in the new app. software. First line support say DO NOT delete new version and then reinstall old version from Home. (This was suggested when the same fault occurred on the last app upgrade.) Second line support have said a bug fix will be available ASAP
    stuartgc, Feb 24, 2012
    #8
  9. jules46

    red-max

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    540 GO LIVE
    Almost a week, doesn't look like there's a fix out yet. Any idea how much longer it wil take?
    red-max, Feb 24, 2012
    #9
  10. jules46

    - et - Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    442
    Location:
    Southern California
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540, GO Live 1535
    I have no way to know what the timeline looks like at TomTom for bug fixes, but I do have experience with what it is like in another industry. One week would be incredibly quick for any software change other than the wording of an on-screen message - and even that type of change might take longer.

    The problem is that it is necessary to do a lot of testing to make sure that you have not broken something else in the process of fixing this bug. When thousands - or even tens or hundreds of thousands - of units already in customer hands are potentially impacted, the prudent course is to "Make haste slowly".

    Having said this, I would be surprised if TomTom does not get the fix out in the relatively near future, just because of the visibility of the issue.

    - Tom -
    - et -, Feb 24, 2012
    #10
  11. jules46

    stuartgc

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    London
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 740
    Error 1008 fixed?

    I have tried using Live Services and logging into my account from the Go740 and there is no Error code flashing onto the screen. All seems to be working well!
    stuartgc, Feb 25, 2012
    #11
  12. jules46

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    @stuartgc
    It could be that you do not have one of the problem SIM cards that causes this problem. Not all UK users are impacted by the 9.400 code issue.
    canderson, Feb 25, 2012
    #12
  13. jules46

    stuartgc

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    London
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 740
    Error code New App

    Sorry but I did have the problem and reported it yesterday pm.to TomTom. That was why I posted the First Line response. This morning the 1008 code had gone and my 740 was in touch with the Live Services server. All seemed to be working. NOW the error code has come back and I am told I have a faulty sim. This is very annoying. I am now waiting with everyone else for a fix.
    stuartgc, Feb 25, 2012
    #13
  14. jules46

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    Ah, OK. Thought you had heard this elsewhere - didn't realize it was from personal experience. I think you're the first to report that it comes and goes. Here's hoping that 9.401 gets completed soon. Those of us with Live units really do come to depend upon that service.
    canderson, Feb 25, 2012
    #14
  15. jules46

    red-max

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    540 GO LIVE
    Thanks Tom, the Engineer in me understands that software fixes do take time, and testing can take even longer. As a Customer I'm frustrated that this seems like the same problem we had with the last software update, and once again it's really made me realise how much I rely on the real-time traffic updates. We had some road closures yesterday, and I know I'm going to hit a lot of traffic on my way to the office tomorrow (Monday), and without Live updates the TomTom is pretty useless. Just to rub it in, my Live subscription runs out soon, reminding me that I am paying for this service which is now broken.

    Is there any way TomTom can get the fix out to those of us that need it, without having to release it to the whole TomTom user base? Most other software vendors have maintenance releases or special fixes which they can get out sooner than a fully tested release...
    red-max, Feb 26, 2012
    #15
  16. jules46

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    No, they won't be issuing a separate release for those only at risk of having the SIM that causes the 1008. There will be an across-the-board release when it happens. The Engineer in you probably also knows that nobody in Engineering likes any extra code branches when they can be avoided!
    canderson, Feb 26, 2012
    #16
  17. jules46

    RobertCroydon

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    940 Live
    Second time this has happened

    This is the second time my 940 Live service has stopped after an update.

    I can't believe that having made the mistake once, they messed up again....

    Surely whatever fixed it last time, should fix it again or is that too simplistic....
    RobertCroydon, Feb 27, 2012
    #17
  18. jules46

    Lupus

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Germany
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start² IQR CE, XL LIVE IQR EU
    In fact, the update solving the 1008 error has been released today as announced somewhere else on this forum as well.

    Regards
    Lars.
    Lupus, Feb 27, 2012
    #18
  19. jules46

    stuartgc

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    London
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 740
    Error 1008

    Dear Lupus,
    This is what the website says (still):
    "Error 1008 on some GO 540/740/940 in the UK

    Back to search results

    Some GO 540/740/940 devices in the UK get Error 1008 when using LIVE services after updating to Software 9.400.

    We apologise for the inconvenience and are currently working on a fix for this issue.
    To keep up-to-date with the latest news about this new service, subscribe to this page by clicking the Notify me link at the end of the page. We'll send you a mail when more information is available."


    I am not aware this constitutes a fix neither can I see any link to one on this Forum. Can you provide some further help?
    stuartgc, Feb 27, 2012
    #19
  20. jules46

    Lupus

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Germany
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start² IQR CE, XL LIVE IQR EU
    Hi,

    okay, sorry. I just saw that dhn only now posted it here as well. It had appeared on some other forums already earlier including the official forum where I also got the information from a TT employee. Some users already applied the Navcore 9.401 update and the error 1008 has been solved for them.


    Regards
    Lars.
    Lupus, Feb 27, 2012
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. sammy2368

    Error code 2031 when using Traffic

    sammy2368, Nov 15, 2008, in forum: TomTom Services
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    3,645
  2. ftwizard

    Error code 1008?

    ftwizard, Jul 21, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    71
    Views:
    25,862
    Andy_P
    Feb 19, 2011
  3. roma1234

    error code 1001

    roma1234, Jan 16, 2011, in forum: Introductions
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,918
    roma1234
    Feb 23, 2011
  4. Case2

    Xxl540tm - promo code error

    Case2, Oct 20, 2011, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    607
  5. Silentdeath609

    Activation Code error

    Silentdeath609, Feb 14, 2012, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    718
    Andy_P
    Feb 14, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page