Adding Community Content (POI)

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by RickB, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. RickB

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    I have a 2535 and added in a handful of customized poi files I made. First several worked fine uploaded to the device using "Add community content to my device". Now I'm adding a new one, and it won't work! My previous poi's and Favs are still in the list, but when I add the new one, it does NOT appear in the list afterwards.

    The device 7 MyTOmTom shows all the prompts "updating device, and the device finishes with "Finshed Updating your device" but the POI file does not show up either in the list on MyTomTom or on the device.

    This worked fine at one time, now nothing!

    I Also tried it using Chrome, still no go, but I *did* get a prompt telling me there is no more room on my Device! Also says 0mb free in the top right corner.

    Whats going on here...
    RickB, Jan 12, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. RickB

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,044
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    As you know, there is precious little we can deal with on models like that since users have no access to the file system.

    You have app 10.501 installed?

    The Nav10.X models sometimes don't handle very well custom poi files that work in earlier models.

    Can you try resetting the unit by holding the power button about 10 seconds till you hear the drum sounds? Probably won't help but .......

    Also try this (it shouldn't show anything but).......

    With the unit connected to the computer, go to this link:
    http://169.254.255.1/dumps/

    Does anything appear?
    dhn, Jan 12, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. RickB

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    Yes, app 10.501
    - yes tried resetting (several times)
    Nothing showing up at http://169.254.255.1/dumps/

    Thanks for trying. This is pretty ridiculous isn't it. I am trying for help on the TomTom support forums, but they are so out to lunch there its almost funny.
    RickB, Jan 12, 2012
    #3
  4. RickB

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,044
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Send Ditte over there a pm and see if she can help out.......
    dhn, Jan 12, 2012
    #4
  5. RickB

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    Ditte is already trying to sport out another mess I am dealing with!
    RickB, Jan 12, 2012
    #5
  6. RickB

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,044
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    I know........ let her know about this as well.

    Tell her I told you to let her deal with it ................ :)
    dhn, Jan 12, 2012
    #6
  7. RickB

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    One problem after another with this thing. Love the device, but this MyTomTom and related issues is nuts! I can't believe all the BS trying to do all this.

    The guy at TomTom who allowed the roll out of these new models and the MyTomTom software should loose their job over this.

    And if one more CS rep tells me to use Chrome, I'm gonna scream!

    PS:I do use Chrome, but there is no way they should be using a system that demands I do so!
    RickB, Jan 13, 2012
    #7
  8. RickB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    ... and no reason that you should. Many of us out here are doing fine with other browsers.

    As to your current problem, no question that "Also says 0mb free in the top right corner." isn't a good sign. While I've seen lots of things about the 'web page' interface that are bogus, available memory hasn't been one of them. Whether accurate or not in reality, when that number gets down to near nil, it's not going to allow any additional material to be loaded.

    What happens if you copy all of your existing POI to your PC and delete them all from the device? I'm wondering if space allocation was botched for one or more of your previously installed POI files. How does the space available after that compare to the total of the files you pulled off?
    canderson, Jan 13, 2012
    #8
  9. RickB

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    It ain't going to work....

    I've got a device that's showing "0MB free".
    I tried to add a tiny POI file (a few kB), and it wouldn't let me.

    So I removed a much larger POI file (~450kB) and it STILL said no space free and wouldn't let me add the new file.
    Andy_P, Jan 13, 2012
    #9
  10. RickB

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,044
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    Andy, what happens if you remove the larger file and then completely uninstall MyTT and reinstall it? What value would ACC show then?
    dhn, Jan 13, 2012
    #10
  11. RickB

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    My mistake... I forgot one detail...

    "Manage content" shows 15MB free
    "Add community content" shows 0MB free

    ... both at the same time.

    A re-install of MyTT makes no difference
    Andy_P, Jan 13, 2012
    #11
  12. RickB

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    Exactly the case with mine. (mine is actually 42+ mb free on Man Content).

    Annoying part is, I had these custom POI files added already and working once. This started when I tried to upload a newer version of one, wouldn't work, so I deleted the old one and now can't add the new one 'cause there's "no room" left.
    RickB, Jan 13, 2012
    #12
  13. RickB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    @Andy
    I don't recall that you're getting any serious attention on that problem, are you? Seems to me that your unit has behaving this way since early October.
    canderson, Jan 14, 2012
    #13
  14. RickB

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Yes.... maybe I need to "bump" it.
    Andy_P, Jan 16, 2012
    #14
  15. RickB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    Might be worth pointing over here again, too.
    canderson, Jan 16, 2012
    #15
  16. RickB

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    I'm being ignored over this too...
    RickB, Jan 30, 2012
    #16
  17. RickB

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Mine was solved by removing a map, but I'm not in a usual "user" situation.
    It certainly requires individual attention from someone who knows what they are doing at TomTom.
    Andy_P, Jan 31, 2012
    #17
  18. RickB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,387
    Location:
    Colorado
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA130
    @Andy
    Do you know if the 'normal' customer support is capable of the sort of inspection and modification of unit contents by means of special 'jobs' off the production server as is done during test? Can customers ask to have their units tweaked to resolve such problems? Given the way the file system is locked down, that would be the only remedy for adding or removing errant content from a unit now.
    canderson, Feb 1, 2012
    #18
  19. RickB

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,044
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; 2535 Non-LIVE: Via 1605
    I would doubt 1st level even know about that, let alone be able to accomplish it.

    Second level, maybe ............
    dhn, Feb 1, 2012
    #19
  20. RickB

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,681
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    No idea mate.
    It would be really good to see if RickB's problem CAN be resolved by customer services, if he can just speak to the right person.

    Otherwise TT are going to having to ship a load of half-bricked units back to Holland, and that can't make sense either economically or for customer satisfaction.
    Andy_P, Feb 1, 2012
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. mvl

    Community content comes to app 10.x devices

    mvl, May 24, 2011, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,967
  2. sneakersteve

    Community Content How to?

    sneakersteve, Jun 7, 2012, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,113
    sneakersteve
    Jun 7, 2012
  3. sneakersteve

    Community content none available

    sneakersteve, Jun 9, 2012, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,264
    sneakersteve
    Jun 10, 2012
  4. emadeva

    Downloading community content from the web

    emadeva, Aug 11, 2012, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    3,774
    Andy_P
    Aug 15, 2012
  5. dakota

    Community Content

    dakota, Mar 11, 2013, in forum: TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,736
    canderson
    Apr 5, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page