720/730 920/930 Battery Replacement Tutorial - Discussion

Very nice ! Thank You !

I am new with GSP I pickup a 720 go refurbished and after I charged it for 4 hours it only showed 2/3 charged. I called tech service and had to send the unit in to them. I just got it back and they just swaped it out for a new one. I guess I scored.

I am new with GSP I pickup a 720 go refurbished and after I charged it for 4 hours it only showed 2/3 charged. I called tech service and had to send the unit in to them. I just got it back and they just swaped it out for a new one. I guess I scored.
Of interest, the thing that led me to replace my battery (and eventually to write the instructions) was that my unit died about 1 month after I purchased it last year. Refused to see a satellite. I sent it back to TT for service, and received what I am sure to have been a refurb'd unit in return. Battery life on the refurb'd unit was only about 1/2 what I'd come to expect from my new unit. Could have griped, and probably should have, but was just happy to be back in service. So a year down the road, and after using my TT with a USB battery backup to wander the streets in Lisbon one day, I got fed up and went looking for a battery again. Fortunately, somebody here pointed me to a correct (read: direct) replacment unit, the one mentioned in the instructions. Prior to that, I'd only seen "similar" packs designed for other equipment that had other connectors or odd wire counts. These could have been modified to suit, but many wouldn't know which end of a soldering iron to apply to swap the connectors after cutting them loose.

File in the first post is not working. Not right now anyways and I would love to take a look at this as my battery will only last about 10 min on a good day. Works great when its plugged in but other than that its toast. :(

If you would like I can host the file so its easy for everyone to get.

EDIT: Its working now so I got it. :) Very nice tutorial by the way.