4gb sdhc card

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by John P, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Hello Forum,
    I have a TomTom One 2nd edition. I have had it since 2006. The original sd card is a 1gb. I got a 4gb Sandisk because the 1gb card is full. I backed up my old 1gb card via the TomTom home site and them I formated the new 4gb card as requested. I loaded the backup onto my new 4gb card and all the files were transfered to the new card.
    The new card will not work in my TomTom. I get a dialog box stating. I need to format the card which I already did. Does anyone have any ideas what to do to get the new 4gb card to work ??.

    Sincerely,

    JohnP
     
    John P, Mar 8, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. John P

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21,168
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 540; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605
    That model will only accept up to a 2gb sd, NOT sdhc, card to my understanding.
     
    dhn, Mar 8, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    4sdhc card

    Thank you for the reply. I will try a 2 gb sd card
     
    John P, Mar 8, 2012
    #3
  4. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    SD vs. SDHC

    The 2gb sd card works in my tomtom one. The 4gb sdhc card will be used for other things. Again thank you for the answer to my problem.
     
    John P, Mar 8, 2012
    #4
  5. John P

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Just popping in with my usual mention that you CAN get 4GB non-SDHC cards.

    4GB was never a part of the original SD standard, but a few manufacturers produced them.
    I have installed several of them on TomTom devices and they have worked fine (read AND write).

    They are getting quite hard to find though.
     
    Andy_P, Mar 11, 2012
    #5
  6. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Hi Andy

    Thank you for the post. I put my 4g sdhc card in my canera and put the 2gb sd from the camera in my tomtom. Everything is working just fine now. Thanks again.
     
    John P, Mar 11, 2012
    #6
  7. John P

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Good news. Glad it wasn't wasted.

    My post is possibly of more interest to European owners because the full Europe map won't fit on a 2GB card any more. So you either have to accept one of the cut-down "map zones" or go on a hunt for these elusive 4GB cards.
     
    Andy_P, Mar 11, 2012
    #7
  8. John P

    ITKILLER

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom 1 2nd & 3rd edition

    Andy

    A friend had the same problem. Three hours late I had the whole of western europe on a 2Gb with over 700mb to spare.
    The TomTom website states in the support area that new SD cards are ready for use out of the packet as they are formatted as FAT32. All of the many cards I have bought, brands and capacities, have been formatted as FAT.

    Working on the principle that units can read FAT 32 I formatted the card as FAT32, changing the default block size from 16k to 2k. This dramatically reduced the space overhead on the smaller files, giving 700Mb free after the maps & OS had been installed.
     
    ITKILLER, Apr 24, 2012
    #8
  9. John P

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Very interesting, ITKILLER, I'm impressed!

    But I still don't see how you managed it.

    The smallest full Europe map I can find on the TT website is 2114.6 MB (for a ONE 2nd Edition). Then you'd need a bit of space for any POIs you wanted to add (I'm assuming this device MUST be one with some internal memory for the operating system and voices etc!)

    Can you really squeeze an extra 10% or more out of a 2GB card? I think they are usually about 1.83GB when formatted (1,971,675,000MB) or thereabouts.

    What figures is Windows reporting on it now?
     
    Andy_P, Apr 24, 2012
    #9
  10. John P

    ITKILLER

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    tomtom 1 2nd & 3rd edition
    Andy

    Just taken a closer look at this. As someone who has no intention of driving on the wrong side of the road I was not aware that there were multiple versions of Europe. He had bought the Western Europe map @1.1Gb and could not get it on his 2Gb card. I did not look at what else was on the card.
    I now see why so many people were p******d off when I did some research this morning about maps not fitting cards. :rant:

    As to the rare non HC 4Gb card, found one on Amazon at a decent price during my research -

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Platinum-177106-Secure-Digital-Card/dp/B000BR9ZRG/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
     
    ITKILLER, Apr 24, 2012
    #10
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. formula

    Sdhc Sd Card

    formula, Mar 5, 2008, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    13,237
  2. Flo

    New 4BG SDHC Card

    Flo, May 26, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    4,060
  3. sageuvagony

    32 GB SDHC Memory Card

    sageuvagony, Oct 28, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,398
  4. snoopy

    730 won't boot with SDHC card

    snoopy, Jul 27, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    715
  5. lefty17

    How to run from the SDHC card

    lefty17, Jul 4, 2011, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,966
    Andy_P
    Jul 4, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page