1530TM battery won't charge in the car

TomTom Model(s)
1530 TM
Noob here. Bought the 1530TM at Costco about a week ago. The unit will power on automatically when connected to the car charger, recognizes the "traffic device" but will not charge the battery. Even though it says "battery charging".

Taking a 60 mile round trip journey, at highway speeds, so under 1 hour round trip, the battery goes from 90% to 15%. This happens in 2 different vehicles.

I live *far* away from any radio that may give traffic updates. The traffic indicator just "spins" the whole time.

When the unit is unplugged, with no cables connected, it will discharge the battery from 90% to about 75% overnight. This is when it is inside the house, not in the car.

The unit will charge when hooked to a PC USB port.

I'm guessing I need to get a new car charger - I'd prefer not to have to return the whole unit and go through the whole 7 hour update process again and try to switch unit serial numbers on my account.

Recommendations? I have emailed tech support.

You'll get a quicker response by calling. If it's < 1 year old, they owe you a new car charger under warranty, I'd say.

I'm not familiar with a "1530TM" (I hadn't seen them include traffic and maps), but I'm guessing it is a VIA 1530 and not a GO 1530.

If you've got a VIA 1530, that will have the cable hard wired to the charger plug itself, but there are plenty of 5V plugs out there, some even providing 2 separate USB outlets, and you can pick up a USB-A to microUSB cable to run between that and your 1530. If your use would make a dual output unit practical, you might consider one of those as an aftermarket 'upgrade'. If not, I'd call TS and suggest they send you a new one.

Thanks for the quick reply - it is a VIA 1530 with the lifetime traffic and maps. As it is only about a week since purchase, it is well under 1 year old.

Thanks for the suggestions on the alternate connectors - the traffic receiver is built into the cord.